Virtual Tour
Parent Portal

CCE Corner

Continuous and Comprehensive Evaluation (CCE) refers to a system of school based evaluation of a student that covers all aspects of a student development. The objectives are continuity in evaluation and assessment of broad based learning and behaviourial outcomes of the learners.

The term ‘comprehensive’ means that the scheme attempts to cover both the scholastic and the co-scholastic aspects of the students’ growth and development. Since abilities, attitudes and aptitudes can manifest themselves in forms other than the written word, hence CCE aims at assessing a learner’s development in areas of learning, like:-

  • Knowledge
  • Understanding
  • Applying
  • Analyzing
  • Evaluating
  • Creating


In order to implement Continuous and Comprehensive Evaluation, both Scholastic and Co-Scholastic aspects needs to be given due recognition.


The objectives of the Scholastic domain are:-

  • Desirable behaviour related to the learner’s knowledge, understanding, application, evaluation, analysis and the ability to apply it in an unfamiliar situation.
  • To improve the teaching learning process.
  • Assessment is both Formative and Summative.

Formative Assessment is a tool to continuously monitor the student’s progress in a supportive environment.

Summative Assessment is carried out at the end of the course of learning during terminal exam. It measures or ‘sums-up’ how much a student has learned from the course. It is usually a graded test i.e. it is marked according to a scale or set of grades. These paper pencil tests are the most traditional way of evaluating student’s work.


The desirable behaviour related to learner’s life skills, attitudes, interests values, co-curricular activities and physical health are described as skills to be acquired in Co-Scholastic domain.

Details of CCE Report Book for Classes VI-VIII

Part 1:

Scholastic Areas

  • There will be two terms. The first term will be from April to September and the second term from October to March of the subsequent year.
  • Each term will have two Formative and one Summative Assessment.
  • Assessment will be indicated in Grades which is based on Nine Point Grading Scale.
  • Overall grade of Formative Assessments over the two terms (FA1+FA2+FA3+FA4) and the overall grade of summative assessment (SA1+SA2) is given.

Co-Scholastic Areas

Co-Scholastic areas are where students are assessed in four parts on a five point Grading Scale once in a session.

Life Skill consists of Part 2(A):-

  • Self Awareness
  • Problem Solving
  • Decision Making
  • Critical Thinking
  • Creative Thinking
  • Interpersonal Relationships
  • Effective Communication
  • Empathy
  • Managing Emotions
  • Dealing with Stress

Part 2(B):-

  • Work Education

Part 2(c):-

  • Visual and Performing Arts

Part 2(D):-

  • Attitude towards Teachers, Schoolmates, School Programmes and Environment.
  • Value system refers to the frame work which must be developed right through the School Life.

Part 3: Co-curricular Activities

It has two sub parts to be assessed on a Five Point Grading Scale.

Part 3(A):-

  • Literary and Creative Skills
  • Scientific Skills
  • Information and Communication Technology
  • Organizational and Leadership Skills (Clubs)

A student is expected to choose two activities from these four groups and will be assessed on his/her level of participation and achievement.

Part 3 (B): Health and Physical Activities

  • Gymnastics
  • Yoga
  • First Aid
  • Gardening

Students will be assessed on any two of the activities. The objective is to benefit from Physical Activities to maximize Health Benefits.